Speculative Diction: Universities and the Media [June 22 & 23, 2011]

Following the first Worldviews conference in June 2011, I wrote two posts that take up the issue of media coverage of universities and postsecondary education. This is a topic that interests me partly because it beings together two areas that I’ve been looking at for some time – media studies (and discourse analysis), and PSE.

Universities and the media, part 1: What they say about us.

Universities and the media, part 2: Why the media matter.

Another angle that I haven’t been able to dig into very much is the influence of media coverage on policy-making in higher education. I did do a presentation on the 2008-2009 CUPE strike at York University and how this was discussed/debated in public and in the news, but I haven’t yet done an in-depth piece about coverage of universities in the long term, which would  really have to be a book-length project. However, I have been able to use some of this kind of analysis as part of my dissertation research.

Leave a Reply

